With SALT of Palmar, Camille Walala has created a colourful, pop-style hotel

Overlooking the Indian Ocean, in the heart of beautiful Mauritius, Camille Walala reveals a hotel with colourful pop décor. Showing off her signature graphic style and directly inspired by the island’s lush nature, the flagship designer of the moment is once again being applauded with the hotel SALT of Palmar. 

Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
A design directly inspired by the nature of Mauritius

Camille Walala was inspired by the nature of Mauritius to create an extraordinary hotel with bright colours and distinctive graphic features. SALT of Palmer features 59 rooms and a boutique, and is housed in a riad-style building, revealing a beautiful interior patio with countless plants.

Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL

For the colour palette and choice of materials, Camille Walala drew on the tones of the island, ranging from the turquoise blue water, the orange walls of the traditional houses and the yellow of the sun. “I was amazed by the number of bright, bold colours on the island. From the emerald green plants to the changing colours of the sky, I wanted to combine these warm and natural tones with my iconic pop colours”, she says.

Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Camille Walala also called upon local artisans to create select pieces, such as the rattan suspensions in the restaurant, to ensure the location remains in perfect harmony with its environment.

Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
A colourful pop universe

After notable projects such as a mural in New York or the inflatable villa she exhibited at the London Design Festival, French designer Camille Walala tackled this new work by remodelling the uses and surfaces of this resort, built in 2005. She expresses all the power of her colourful pop universe with tropical and graphic touches drawn from the Memphis movement, of which she is the worthy heiress.

Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Au Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala imagine un hôtel au style pop et coloré

Face à l’océan Indien, en plein coeur de la magnifique Île Maurice, Camille Walala dévoile un hôtel à la décoration pop et colorée. Déclinant sa signature graphique et s’inspirant directement de la nature luxuriante de l’île, la designer phare du moment s’est encore une fois faite applaudir avec l’hôtel Salt of Palmar. 

Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Un design directement inspiré par la nature de l’Île Maurice

Camille Walala s’est inspirée de la nature le l’Île Maurice pour imaginer un hôtel hors du commun aux couleurs vives et aux lignes très graphiques. Salt of Palmer dispose de 59 chambres et d’une boutique et prend place dans un bâtiment de style riad, dévoilant un magnifique patio intérieur aux nombreuses plantes.

Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Pour la palette de couleurs et le choix des matériaux, Camille Walala a utilisé les tonalités de l’île entre le bleu turquoise de l’eau, les murs oranges des habitations ou le jaune soleil. « J’ai été époustouflée par le nombre de couleurs vives et audacieuses que l’on trouve sur l’île. Du vert émeraude des plantes aux couleurs changeantes du ciel, je voulais marier ces tons chauds et naturels à mes couleurs pop emblématiques » déclare-t-elle.

Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Camille Walala a également fait appel à des artisans locaux afin de créer certaines pièces comme les suspensions en rotin du restaurant afin que le lieu se confonde totalement avec l’environnement.

Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Un univers pop et coloré

Après des projets remarqués comme la fresque réalisée à New-York ou la villa gonflable exposée lors du London Design Festival, la créatrice française Camille Walala s’attaque à un travail inédit en remodelant les usages et les surfaces de ce resort construit en 2005. Elle y exprime toute la puissance de son univers pop et coloré aux touches tropicales et graphiques dans la lignée du mouvement Memphis dont elle est la digne héritière.

Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Salt of Palmar, Camille Walala
Selected by PROMOSTYL