Botter, tailoring at the service of the environment

Winner of the Hyères Festival 2018, Dutch label Botter seduced the jury with an illuminated fashion proposal that embraces off-beat tailoring and inspired environmentalism.

Botter
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Botter
Selected by PROMOSTYL
New-generation suits

Formal wear par excellence, solemn male tailoring now seems to be on the decline. At least, this is the new fashion paradigm advocated by Botter, laureate of the latest Hyères Fashion Festival, as it sets about radically changing the codes of the male suit. Unstructured, reformed and colourful: the label’s ‘Fish or fight’ collection ostentatiously plays with traditional standards of elegance, doubling them up with efficient streetwear energy and second-degree gimmicks, all with a stunning dexterity. In short, a fashion with inventiveness facetious that draws its inspiration from young and explosive Caribbean style.

Botter
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Botter
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Originally from the island of Curaçao, the label’s founder Rushemy Botter wanted to celebrate his cultural heritage at the same time as exploring his vision of the contemporary world, shaped by his exile in Europe and studies at Amsterdam Fashion Institute. A bias that he shares with partner Lisi Herrebrugh, a former student of the Antwerp Academy and the second half of this new triumphant label.

Botter
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Botter
Selected by PROMOSTYL
A fashion for creative activism

“We wanted something energetic and elegant at the same time, but also easy to wear. We took our inspiration from fisherman, who wake up early in the morning to catch fish. They carry their nets, which gives them a poetic feel. We wanted to give a voice to these people who don’t have one,” explains Rushemy Botter on the Fashion Network website. Because, behind its fun yet sharp style, Botter claims a creative and committed approach, naturally falling into the precepts of sustainable development.

Botter
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Botter
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Indeed, currently based in Antwerp, the duo behind the label defend an environmentalist discourse, denouncing, among other things, the effects of industrial fishing on the local economic fabric and sea life of the Caribbean. A way for the two creators to make sense of their stylistic work, as they all too often see clothing stripped of any story.

Botter
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Botter
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Botter, le nouveau tayloring au service de l’environnement

Grand gagnant du Festival de Hyères 2018, le label néerlandais Botter a su séduire le jury avec sa proposition mode éclairée, entre tayloring déjanté et inspiration environnementaliste revendiquée.

Botter
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Botter
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Des costumes nouvelle génération

Formal wear par excellence, le solennel tayloring masculin serait sur le déclin. C’est du moins le nouveau paradigme mode que prône Botter, lauréat du dernier Festival de mode de Hyères, en bouleversant radicalement les codes du costume pour hommes. Déstructurés, recomposés, bariolés : les modèles de leur collection « Fish or fight » se jouent ostensiblement des traditionnelles normes d’élégance en les doublant d’une énergie streetwear efficace et de gimmicks second degré, le tout avec une dextérité couture épatante.

Botter
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Botter
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Une mode à l’inventivité facétieuse en somme, qui puise son inspiration dans le style détonnant des jeunes caribéens. Originaire de l’île de Curaçao, le fondateur du label Rushemy Botter a en effet voulu célébrer son héritage culturel tout en y associant sa vision du monde contemporaine, façonnée par son exil en Europe et ses études à l’école Amfi d’Amsterdam. Un parti-pris qu’il partage avec sa compagne Lisi Herrebrugh, ancienne élève de l’Académie d’Anvers et seconde tête pensante de ce nouveau label triomphant.

Botter
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Botter
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Une mode au militantisme créatif

« Nous avons voulu quelque chose d’énergique et en même temps d’élégant, mais qui reste facile à porter. Nous nous sommes inspirés des pêcheurs qui se lèvent tôt le matin pour prendre le poisson. Ils portent leurs filets, cela leur donne une allure poétique. Nous avons voulu donner une voix à ces personnes qui n’en ont pas », explique Rushemy Botter au site Fashion Network.

Botter
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Botter
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Car derrière une mode à l’inclinaison festive décapante, Botter revendique une conception créative engagée, s’inscrivant naturellement dans les préceptes du développement durable. Le tandem qui vit aujourd’hui à Anvers défend en effet un discours environnementaliste, dénonçant entre autres les méfaits de la pêche industrielle sur le tissu économique local et la faune sous-marine des Caraïbes. Une manière pour les deux créateurs de donner du sens à leur travail stylistique, eux qui estiment trop souvent voir des vêtements dépourvus d’histoire.

Botter
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Botter
Selected by PROMOSTYL