December 1st  2022 – By Promostyl

Meet Mylo™, a Leather-Like Material Grown From Mycelium/h2>

Bolt Threads, a materials innovation company based in California, is aiming to change our perception about leather by introducing Mylo™, the first leather-like commercially viable material grown from mycelium. The goal? To reduce the long-term environmental impact of one of the most polluting industries on the planet, and contribute to the creation of a more sustainable world.

Mylo (Sélectionnée par Promostyl)

FROM NATURE TO OUR CLOSET

Focused on sustainability and inspired by nature, Bolt Threads are using cutting-edge technology and bioengineering concepts in order to provide highly desirable, sustainable and better performing products.

With Microsilk™ being only the beginning, Bolt Threads decided to go one step further and in collaboration with biomaterials company ECOVATIVE, they managed to optimize the latter’s mycelium fabrication technology into a commercially-ready material; Mylo™. How they do it? By growing mycelium, the underground root structure of a mushroom. As natural as that!

Mylo (Sélectionnée par Promostyl)

Through the control of mycelium’s growing environment and process, Bolt Threads’ team is able to manipulate Mylo™’s durability, strength and suppleness in order to make it look and feel like hand-crafted animal leather.

What makes it sustainable is that its production takes only some days, there is no material waste of using animal hides and, most importantly, no livestock is sacrificed. In addition, it is biodegradable and non-toxic which makes it a far more sustainable option than synthetic leather.

Mylo (Sélectionnée par Promostyl)

STELLA MCCARTNEY THE FIRST TO USE MYLO™


Stella McCartney, an innovative brand that embraces Bolt Threads’ mindset, is the first to incorporate this new material into her collections. Having already used Microsilk™, the designer introduces the MYLO™ Falabella Prototype One, a sustainable version of her iconic bag made exclusively of Bolt Thread’s new leather-like material.

Fore those who want to see it, the bag is showcased at the Victoria and Albert Museum’s exhibit “Fashioned from Nature”. Bolt Threads will also bring Mylo™ to consumers by releasing their own bag for pre-order this June. Can’t wait!
Mylo (Sélectionnée par Promostyl)

Découvrez Mylo™, un nouveau « cuir » fabriqué à partir de mycélium

Bolt Threads, une société d’innovation en matériaux basée en Californie, s’apprête à modifier notre perception du cuir grâce à Mylo™, la première matière semblable au cuir commercialement viable, fabriquée à partir de mycélium, les racines d’un champignon. L’objectif ? Réduire l’impact environnemental à long terme de l’une des industries les plus polluantes et contribuer à la création d’un monde plus durable.

MYLO™
Selected by PROMOSTYL
MYLO™
Selected by PROMOSTYL
De la nature à notre garde-robe

Axé sur le développement durable et s’inspirant de la nature, Bolt Threads utilise des concepts technologiques et biotechnologiques de pointe pour fabriquer des produits hautement désirables, durables et plus performants. Microsilk™ n’était qu’un début et Bolt Threads a décidé d’aller un peu plus loin.

En collaboration avec la société ECOVATIVE, ils sont parvenus à optimiser la technologie de fabrication du mycélium pour créer une matière prête pour le commerce : Mylo™. Comment ont-ils fait ? En cultivant du mycélium, l’appareil végétatif souterrain d’un champignon. Quoi de plus naturel !

MYLO™
Selected by PROMOSTYL

En contrôlant l’environnement et le processus de croissance du mycélium, l’équipe de Bolt Threads est capable de manipuler la durabilité, la résistance et la souplesse de Mylo™ pour en faire une matière similaire au cuir animal artisanal sur les plans visuel et tactile.

S’il est durable, c’est parce que sa production ne prend que quelques jours, n’entraîne aucun gaspillage – contrairement aux peaux d’animaux – et n’exige le sacrifice d’aucune bête. En outre, il est biodégradable et non toxique, ce qui en fait une option bien plus durable que le cuir synthétique.

MYLO™
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Stella McCartney adopte Mylo™ avant tout le monde

Stella McCartney, marque innovante partageant les valeurs de Bolt Threads, est la première à intégrer cette nouvelle matière à ses collections. La créatrice de mode, qui a déjà utilisé Microsilk™, vient de dévoiler une version durable de son emblématique sac « Falabella », fabriquée à partir du nouveau « cuir » de Bolt Threads.

MYLO™
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Pour ceux qui souhaitent le voir, ce sac est présenté dans le cadre de l’exposition « Fashioned from Nature », au Victoria and Albert Museum. Bolt Threads fera également profiter les consommateurs de son innovation en proposant son propre sac en MYLO™, qui sera disponible en prévente en juin. On a hâte de voir ça !

MYLO™
Selected by PROMOSTYL