While luxury houses such as Chanel, Tom Ford and Marc Jacobs are launching make-up collections for men, male beauty is extracting itself from its gender-fluid niche status to become a market share in its own right.

Selected by PROMOSTYL
Selected by PROMOSTYL
from timid ranges from the luxury houses…

A moisturising foundation, bronzing gel, concealer, brow cleanser: long considered inherently feminine, these products are now finding their place in men’s vanity cases. Previously stigmatised, make-up for men is now coming into the light of day with dedicated collections from renowned luxury houses. Marc Jacobs, Tom Ford and now Chanel, reveal their men’s lines, merrily following the path opened up by gender-fluid cosmetics brands such as Make Up For Ever, MAC and Nars.

Selected by PROMOSTYL
Selected by PROMOSTYL

However, the packaging remains neutral, the offering relatively limited, and the products are more like a simple skincare line than creative make-up. A slightly timid commercial direction with deliberately discreet marketing, which ultimately boils down to a strategy that is more reactive than proactive in the light of consumer trends and against the backdrop of the current debate about gender norms.

Selected by PROMOSTYL
Selected by PROMOSTYL

… to the emergence of dedicated cosmetics brands

Openly committed to gender-free beauty, brands such as Milk, Fluide and MMUK, created by the British founder Alex Dalley and successfully sold on Asos.com, unashamedly offer “guylines”, “manscaras” and other colourful palettes on a par with their feminine equivalents. These products represent a new breed of cosmetics, echoing videos from now famous YouTubers such as James Charles, Manny Mua and Jeffree Star, who all specialise in make-up for men tutorials.

Selected by PROMOSTYL
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Generating thousands of clicks (and advertising revenue), these young men who are masters in the art of contouring are the beauty sphere’s new darlings, winning a series of brand ambassador contracts, particularly with Coty. Proof that make-up, whether it is creating a buzz on social media or beauty brands’ e-shops, is (really) no longer a question of gender.

Selected by PROMOSTYL

L’année 2019 sera-t-elle l’année du maquillage pour hommes?

Alors que des maisons de luxe comme Chanel, Tom Ford et Marc Jacobs lancent des collections de make-up pour hommes, la beauté au masculin s’extirpe de son statut de niche gender-fluid pour devenir une part de marché à part entière.

Selected by PROMOSTYL
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Des timides gammes des maisons de luxe…

Fond de teint hydratant, gel bronzant, anti-cernes, nettoyant pour sourcils : longtemps considérés comme par essence féminins, ces produits trouvent aujourd’hui leur place dans le vanity masculin. Stigmatisé, le maquillage pour hommes se dévoile aujourd’hui au grand jour avec des collections dédiées du côté des maisons de luxe reconnues. Marc Jacobs, Tom Ford et depuis Décembre 2018 Chanel, dévoilent leurs lignes Homme, empruntant allègrement la voie ouverte par les marques de cosmétiques gender-fluid comme Make Up For Ever, MAC ou Nars.

Selected by PROMOSTYL
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Les packaging restent cependant neutres, l’offre relativement limitée et les produits relèvent moins d’un maquillage créatif que d’une simple ligne de soins. Un parti-pris commercial un brin timide, au marketing volontairement discret, qui tient finalement plus d’une stratégie réactive que pro-active face aux tendances de consommation, avec l’actuel débat sur les normes de genre en toile de fond.

Selected by PROMOSTYL
Selected by PROMOSTYL

… à l’émergence de marques cosmétiques dédiées

Ouvertement engagées en faveur d’une beauté non-genrée, des marques commes Milk, Fluide ou encore MMUK, créée par le britannique Alex Dalley et distribuée avec succès sur Asos.com, proposent ouvertement des “guylines”, des “manscaras” et autres palettes hautes en couleurs qui n’ont rien à envier à leurs équivalents féminins. Véritables OVNI de la cosmétique, ces produits font écho aux vidéos des désormais célèbres youtubbers que sont James Charles, Manny Mua ou encore Jeffree Star, tous spécialisés dans les tutos make-up pour hommes.

Selected by PROMOSTYL
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Générant des clics (et des recettes publicitaires) par milliers, ces jeunes hommes passés maîtres dans l’art du contouring sont la nouvelle coqueluche de la beauty sphère, enchaînant les contrats d’égérie, notamment avec la marque Coty. Preuve que le maquillage, qu’il fasse le buzz sur les réseaux sociaux ou les e-shops de beauty brands, n’est (vraiment) plus une question de genre.

Selected by PROMOSTYL