Lino Leather, the new vegan leather

The symbol of fast-growing eco-friendly fashion that we have already mentioned in Influences & Design AW19/20 Trendbook, in “Concept 3” of the Standard Theme with another vegan leather, Wine Leather, Vegea (see page 89), vegan leather has become the new Holy Grail for designers in search of materials combining synthetic manufacture and a beautiful aesthetic. The latest version to date? Lino Leather created by designer Don Kwaning.

Lino Leather
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Leather born of lino

This famous Lino Leather is the result of many experiments conducted with linoleum, better known as lino, the same material that is normally used to provide an inexpensive floor covering that is able to withstand intensive use. This new double-sided version can also incidentally present the same finish on each side thanks to the textile layer placed in the centre.

Composed of a mix of plant-based oils and resins, it may also be tinted to create different colour finishes. “Linoleum is an overlooked material,” Kwaning told the website Dezeen. “It is a material with great future potential. Many people don’t even know it’s made from only natural materials,” he adds.

Lino Leather
Selected by PROMOSTYL
A multifaceted leather

In its first version, Lino Leather appears like a thick vegan leather that can be folded and given a honeycomb-like structure. It has particularly been used in interior design to create wall panels and has noteworthy acoustic qualities. In the second version, Lino Leather is similar to leather found on horse saddles, for example. It is a supple material, very often used for commercial applications.

Lino Leather
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Both examples were part of the designer’s graduation project presented during the exhibition organised by the Design Academy Eindhoven during Dutch Design Week. His other project, Medulla, focused on creating eco-friendly packaging and design materials from plants. A great source of raw materials of tomorrow for designers.

Le Lino Leather, le nouveau cuir vegan

Symbole d’une mode éco-responsable en pleine expansion que nous évoquions déjà dans le cahier Influences & Design AW19-20, dans le « Concept 3 » du Thème Standard avec un autre cuir vegan le Cuir de Vigne, Vegea (voir page 89), le cuir vegan est devenu le nouveau graal des créateurs en quête de matériaux mêlant fabrication synthétique et belle esthétique. Dernière déclinaison en date ? Le Lino Leather créé par le designer Don Kwaning.

Lino Leather
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Un cuir né du lino

Ce fameux Lino Leather est le résultat de multiples expérimentations réalisées autour du linoleum, plus connu sous le nom de lino, le même qui est habituellement utilisé pour habiller les sols de façon économique tout en étant capable de subir un usage intensif. Double-face, cette nouvelle version peut par ailleurs présenter le même rendu de chaque côté grâce à la couche textile placée au centre.

Composée d’huile et de résines réalisés à base de plantes mélangées, elle peut également être teintée afin de créer différentes finitions de couleurs. « Le linoléum est un matériau négligé », a déclaré Kwaning au site Dezeen. « C’est un matériau avec un grand potentiel d’avenir. Beaucoup de gens ne savent même pas qu’il est fabriqué uniquement à partir de matériaux naturels » poursuit-il.

Lino Leather
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Un cuir protéiforme

Dans sa première version, le Lino Leather apparaît comme un cuir vegan épais, pouvant être plissé et doté d’une structure façon nid d’abeilles. Il a notamment été utilisé en décoration d’intérieur pour créer des panneaux muraux et présente des qualités acoustiques notables. Dans la seconde version, le Lino Leather s’apparente à celui que l’on trouve sur les selles équestres par exemple. C’est un matériau souple, utilisé très couramment pour des applications commerciales.

Lino Leather
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Dans les deux cas, il s’agit du projet de fin d’études du designer, présentée lors de l’exposition organisée par la Design Academy Eindhoven à la Dutch Design Week. Quant à son autre projet, Medulla, il était axé sur la création d’emballages écologiques et de matériaux de conception à partir de plantes. De quoi fournir aux créateurs leurs matières premières de demain.