“Tech check” fabrics: new-generation checks

Checked prints are coming back into fashion, making the most of new technologies and modernising their aesthetic and manufacturing methods alike.

Tech Check
Selected PROMOSTYL
prints that blend tradition and modernity

Checked prints are being brought up to date and taking on quasi-futuristic looks that offer them a new lease of life. With all due respect to hypnotic or holographic motifs, traditional houndstooth check and Prince of Wales check prints are being given a twist at the very heart of their production using new manufacturing processes, such as coatings or polyurethane films.

Tech Check
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Whether classic or on ready-to-print (textile or film) backgrounds, these new-generation, ultra-fine fabrics also feature subtly gummy and rubbery feels for diverse textile applications.

Tech Check
Selected by PROMOSTYL
50 shades of tech check

At the manufacturer ITS AREA, these new “tech checks” come on a polyurethane base, in a relatively light-coloured Prince of Wales check version that we can find in the AW20-21 Menswear Trenbook, page 38 (which will be released next week) and in the AW20-21 Kids Trenbook (page 72). On the strength of its British roots, it adds a vintage touch to winter looks, blending nature and tradition, without denying them an ounce of modernity.

Tech Check
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Tech Check
Selected by PROMOSTYL

On the other hand, at FRIZZA, these high-tech checks are displayed in darker shades, twisted with a polyurethane and polyamide blend with coating. Mackintosh-style on a men’s waterproof, for example, it offers a way of revisiting outdoor wardrobe essentials while combining elegance and technical expertise. These complementary qualities have won over our designers with conviction and spontaneity.

Tech Check
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Also, you can find those 2 fabrics in the AW20-21 Textiles Study (page 31).

Also note that during the last edition of Première Vision Paris, this range of fabrics was mentioned on a special focus.

Tech Check
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Les tissus “tech check”, les carreaux nouvelle génération

Les imprimés à carreaux reviennent au goût du jour à grand renfort de nouvelles technologies, modernisant aussi bien leur esthétique que leurs méthodes de confection.

Tech Check
Selected PROMOSTYL
Des imprimés entre tradition et modernité

Les imprimés à carreaux se modernisent et prennent des allures quasi-futuristes qui leur offrent une seconde jeunesse. N’en déplaise aux motifs hypnotiques ou holographiques, les traditionnels prints “pied-de-poule” et “prince-de-galles” se voient en effet twistés dans le fondement même de leur fabrication à l’aide de nouveaux procédés de fabrication, comme des enductions ou des films en polyuréthane.

Tech Check
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Qu’ils soient classique ou sur fonds prêt-à-imprimer (textile ou film), ces tissus nouvelle génération, et ultra-fins se dotent également de touchers subtilement gommeux et caoutchoutés pour une application textile sous le signe de la pluralité.

Tech Check
Selected by PROMOSTYL
50 nuances de Tech Check

Chez le fabricant ITS AREA, ces nouveaux “tech check” se déclinent sur une base de polyuréthane, dans une version Prince de Galles relativement claire, que l’on retrouve dans notre cahier Homme AW20-21, page 38 (disponible dès la semaine prochaine) et dans notre Cahier Kids AW20-21 (page 72). Fort de ses origines britanniques, il apporte une note vintage aux silhouettes hivernales, entre nature et tradition, sans pour autant leur nier toute once de modernité.

Tech Check
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Tech Check
Selected by PROMOSTYL

À l’inverse chez FRIZZA, c’est dans ses nuances les plus sombres que se présentent ces carreaux high-tech, détournés par une alliance polyuréthane et polyamide, avec enduction. Façon Mackintosh sur un imperméable masculin par exemple, il permet de revisiter les essentiels du vestiaire outdoor tout en mêlant élégance et technicité. Des qualités complémentaires qui ont su séduire nos stylistes avec conviction et spontanéité.

Tech Check
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Retrouvez ces 2 tissus dans l’Etude Textiles AW20-21 (page 31).

A noter également que lors de la dernière édition de Première Vision Paris, cette gamme de tissus était mentionné sur un focus spécial.

Tech Check
Selected by PROMOSTYL