Why was 2018 the year of eco-friendly fashion?

The driver of a new textile paradigm, 2018 was a year marked by a collective awareness in the ready-to-wear industry. Brands, customers and young designers alike all championed a more environmentally friendly view of clothes, a far cry for textile production verging on consumerist suffocation.

Selected by PROMOSTYL
consumers in search of responsible ready-to-wear

The figures cannot be denied. According to the e-commerce site Lyst’s Fashion Report, searches for organic cotton or vegan leather clothing rose by 47% in 2018. In parallel, the number of Instagram posts tagged with the #sustainablefashion hashtag was close to three million. An unquestionable increase, revealing the environmental concerns of a consumer in search of responsible consumption.

Selected by PROMOSTYL

Compulsive shopping is out: fashionistas, who are now informed about the devastating effects of fast fashion, are looking for an eco-friendly, green wardrobe that is harmful neither to the planet nor to those who live on it. Designers are eagerly responding to this demand, starting with popular labels such as Vêtements and Marine Serre.

Selected by PROMOSTYL
pioneering fashion labels

The first, led by Demna Gvasalia, offered an installation in the window display of Harrods department store in early 2018: a pile of more or less worn clothes, materialising the sickening waste generated by the ready-to-wear industry each year. His solution to the problem? “For brands to have their supply meet their demand,” explains the Georgian designer, “and avoid accumulating unsold stock”. For her part, the LVMH prize-winning Frenchwoman Marine Serre states that she does not want to “contribute to global pollution” and primarily uses recycled fabrics and materials to create her designs, which she claims are 100% eco-friendly. Which may make us lose sight of the luxury behemoths who have often ignored or even intensified the ecological impact of their business model.

Selected by PROMOSTYL

In July, Burberry was accused of having destroyed almost 90 million dollars’ worth of unsold clothing over the past five years, provoking disappointment and controversy across the fashion sphere. Called out, the major houses must now imaginatively compete to attest to a certain green credibility and ensure their long-term longevity.

Pourquoi 2018 a été l’année de la mode éco-responsable ?

Moteur d’un nouveau paradigme textile, l’année 2018 a été marquée par une prise de conscience collective au sein de l’industrie du prêt-à-porter. Marques, clients et jeunes créateurs : tous défendent une conception des vêtements plus respectueuse de l’environnement, aux antipodes d’une production textile frôlant l’asphyxie consumériste.

Selected by PROMOSTYL
Des consommateurs en quête d’un prêt-à-porter responsable

Les chiffres sont formels. Selon le Fashion Report du site e-commerce Lyst, les recherches de vêtements en coton organique ou en cuir vegan ont augmenté de 47% en 2018. En parallèle, le nombre de posts Instagram légendés du hashtag #sustainablefashion (“mode durable” en anglais) a frôlé les 3 millions. Une augmentation incontestable, révélatrice des préoccupations environnementales d’un consommateur en quête d’une consommation responsable.

Selected by PROMOSTYL

Exit le shopping compulsif, les amateurs de mode, désormais informés des effets dévastateurs de la fast-fashion sont en quête d’un” green dressing”, éco-responsable, qui ne soit ni nocif pour la planète, ni pour ceux qui l’habitent. Une exigence à laquelle les designers répondent avec vigueur, à commencer par les labels en vogue comme Vêtements ou Marine Serre.

Selected by PROMOSTYL
Des labels de mode précurseurs

Le premier, mené par Demna Gvasalia, proposait début 2018 une installation en vitrine des grands magasins Harrods : une pile de vêtements plus ou moins usés, matérialisant l’écoeurant gaspillage opéré chaque année par l’industrie du prêt-à-porter. Sa solution au problème ? “Que les marques produisent en fonction de leur demande” explique le créateur géorgien, « et évitent de cumuler les invendus ». De son côté, la gagnante du prix LVMH, la française Marine Serre, assure ne pas vouloir “contribuer à la pollution mondiale” en utilisant essentiellement des textiles et matières recyclés pour créer ses silhouettes qu’elle revendique 100% éco-responsables.

Selected by PROMOSTYL

De quoi perdre de vue les mastodontes du luxe qui ont souvent ignoré, voire intensifier l’impact écologique de leur modèle économique. En juillet, Burberry était ainsi accusé d’avoir détruit près de 90 millions de dollars de vêtements invendus sur les 5 dernières années, suscitant déception et controverses à travers la fashion sphère. Pointées du doigts, les grandes maisons doivent désormais rivaliser d’imagination pour attester d’une certaine “green” crédibilité et assurer à long terme, leur longévité.