The Colors of Nature, from artisan dyes to local expertise

While the concept of ethical fashion is making headway, the focus is on The Colors of Nature, a small family business in southern India that specialises in natural and eco-responsible dyes.

It was in Kottakarai, a small village in the southern Indian community of Auroville, that Jesus Ciriza Larraona began the adventure of The Colors of Nature in 1993. His goal? To revive the practice of ancient traditions surrounding natural dyes with a focus on locally harvested and fermented indigo.

The Colors of Nature
Selected by PROMOSTYL
The Colors of Nature
Selected by PROMOSTYL
The Colors of Nature
Selected by PROMOSTYL
A natural and independent craft

Mastering a series of light-resistant colours, the workshops also specialise in batik, a wax technique, and Shibori, a Japanese technique that involves knotting or sewing fabric into folds in order to structure the dyeing areas.

The Colors of Nature
Selected by PROMOSTYL

The workshops offer a complete range of interior and ready-to-wear textile solutions from fabrics to scarves, T-shirts, jeans and dresses, with finishes ranging from simply dyes to sewing techniques.

The Colors of Nature
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Dyes that support sustainable development

Yet this is not the only vocation of The Colors of Nature. Whilst upholding social and environmental values, and in addition to increasing its production capacities, this small Indian company also seeks to develop indigo culture in its native lands, Auroville. Its strength? Producing quality dyes, at the same time as reviving barren land and providing a respectable income for rural pickers. In addition, The Colors of Nature exemplifies eco-friendly dyeing.

The Colors of Nature
Selected by PROMOSTYL
The Colors of Nature
Selected by PROMOSTYL
The Colors of Nature
Selected by PROMOSTYL

The company is completely chromium, alizarin and hydrosulfite free – the master dyers don’t add any toxic products to their natural dyes. The dye tanks can process up to 30 pounds of fabric per day without wasting a drop of water, a commodity that is used with great care.

Their only waste product? Compost, which is reused to generate further value. Who said that dyeing means pollution?

The Colors of Nature
Selected by PROMOSTYL
The Colors of Nature
Selected by PROMOSTYL

The Colors of Nature, des teintures artisanales au savoir-faire local

Alors que le concept d’une mode éthique tente de tirer son épingle du jeu, focus sur The Colors of Nature, une petite entreprise familiale du sud de l’Inde spécialisée dans les teintures naturelles et éco-responsables.

C’est dans un petit village du sud de l’Inde, à Kottakarai dans le canton d’Auroville, que Jesus Ciriza Larraona entame l’aventure de The Colors of Nature en 1993. Son objectif ? Raviver la pratique des anciennes traditions liées au colorant naturels avec une certaine inflexion pour l’indigo, récolté et fermenté localement.

The Colors of Nature
Selected by PROMOSTYL
The Colors of Nature
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Un artisanat naturel et indépendant

Maîtrisant une série de couleurs résistantes à la lumière, les ateliers se sont également spécialisés dans le batik, fait d’applications de cire, ou encore le Shibori, technique japonaise par laquelle le tissu est noué ou cousu dans des plis et qui permet ainsi de structurer les zones de teinture.

The Colors of Nature
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Tissus mais aussi foulards, tee-shirts, jeans, robes : les ateliers proposent une gamme de solutions textiles complète, aussi bien pour les intérieurs que pour le prêt-à-porter, de la simple teinture à la couture.

The Colors of Nature
Selected by PROMOSTYL
Des teintures respectueuses du développement durable

Mais ce n’est pas la seule vocation de The Colors of Nature. Porteuse de valeurs sociales et environnementales, la petite entreprise indienne aimerait, outre augmenter ses capacités de production, développer la culture de l’indigo sur ses propres terres d’origine, à Auroville. Sa force ? Produire des teintures de qualité, mais aussi redonner vie aux terres stériles et procurer un revenu décent aux cueilleuses rurales.

The Colors of Nature
Selected by PROMOSTYL
The Colors of Nature
Selected by PROMOSTYL
The Colors of Nature
Selected by PROMOSTYL

Par ailleurs, The Colors of of Nature se veut un exemple en matière de teintures respectueuses de l’environnement. Ni chrome, ni alizarine, ni hydrosulfite : aucun produit toxique n’est ajouté aux colorants naturels utilisés par les maîtres-teinturiers.

Côté cuves, elles peuvent teindre jusqu’à 30 kilos de tissu par jour sans gaspiller une goutte d’eau, cette dernière étant utilisée avec soin. Leur seul déchet : du compost, réutilisé à d’autres fins de valorisations. Qui a dit que la teinture devait forcément être polluante ?

The Colors of Nature
Selected by PROMOSTYL
The Colors of Nature
Selected by PROMOSTYL